BooksDirect

Description - No Reading Allowed: The WORST Read-Aloud Book Ever by Bryce Gladfelter

Age range 4+

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of P is for Pterodactyl comes another hilarious fresh look at the English language!

In the vein of Eats, Shoots, and Leaves, this delightful new book places pairs of similar-sounding sentences together and illustrates them in two hilariously different ways. These illustrations gone awry highlight how absurd the English language can be. But, have no fear!

The illustrations will give you all the clues you need to decipher the true meanings behind these wily words. You won't be tricked by phrases like 'C Major, it's a beautiful key! / See Major, it's a beautiful quay!' Context clues, bright illustrations, and rhyming words will help readers navigate the ridiculous text with ease.

Watch an interview with Raj Haldar and editor Kelly Barrales-Saylor here

See the announcement of the book at the 2020 online BEA children's dinner here

Click here to watch the video of Raj Halder explaining who he is, the concept of NRA, and reading a few favourite spreads from No Reading Allowed.

'Endlessly funny...Preposterous situations and farcical sound-alike sentences will elicit groans and giggles.' - Kirkus Reviews

'This book is a stellar follow-up to P Is for Pterodactyl with all the wit and humour of its predecessor, and then some. A perfect way to teach kids about language, or maybe just confuse the heck out of them, but either way, it'll be fun for the whole family.' - Britt Margit Hopkins, Second Star to the Right

'Those who love wordplay are the natural constituency for No Reading Allowed: The Worst Read-Aloud Book Ever, a picture book that's bright with comic scenes...[and] brilliant pairings of picture and word (and word with word).' - The Wall Street Journal Book Review

Buy No Reading Allowed: The WORST Read-Aloud Book Ever by Bryce Gladfelter from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, BooksDirect.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.
Customers Also Bought